My response to a 1am text message

I received an email from a man on match who would not correspond via email. He reached out to me first, I never in any way pursued him.  He insisted on getting my phone number right away.  I responded that before I gave him my number, I needed to know for sure he was not a fake user.  I asked him to tell me where he lived and what he did for a living (so I could verify something about him).  He responded with cross streets in another state – Boca Raton FL. When I questioned him, he said he has a home in my state and a vacation home in Boca.  And then again demanded my phone number.  So I gave in and gave it to him.  Didn’t hear from him, so I forgot about him.

Last night (1 whole month later), at 1am, he sent me this text message “‘John’ [name changed to protect him] aka “his match user name” wants to meet “my name” aka “my match user name.” 🙂  Sorry for texting so late.”

I try not to send negative emails.  I think it serves very little purpose and just puts more bad feelings out there – we have enough of those.  But I just could not refrain from responding to him.  Here is the email I wrote to this late night texter at 8 am this morning.  I thought you would enjoy this.

“I wonder if just for a minute you thought about how I might perceive the text you sent me at 1 am this morning. Like, did you think, perhaps that I might think – a) who is this person texting me in the middle of the night? and b) once I figured it out who it was, wouldn’t I think – geez. He badgered me for my number a month ago and then didn’t contact me. Now he is contacting me, in the middle of the night, and expecting me to know who it is, much less to wake up and start texting at 1 am? Does he think I was just sitting around waiting for a month for him to find the time to reach out to me? After a month, you couldn’t have waited until daylight? Or does he think I am so desperate that I would just jump at the chance to meet him the second he finally contacted me? I don’t usually respond when someone seems to show little to no interest in me, much less so rudely contacts me in the middle of the night. But I thought it might be helpful for you to know my reaction so perhaps you can be more successful in the future. Best wishes to you.”

Seriously.  What is the deal?

Leave a Reply

